The State of Utah

  1. publishing
  2. January 2, 2013 9:29 pm

The State of Utah

The state of Utah is located in the mountain region of the United States. The state covers an area of 84,899 square miles, including 2,755 square miles of inland water. The highest elevation in the state is Kings Peak, at 13,528 feet above sea level. The lowest point is Beaverdam Creek, at 2,000 feet above sea level. Utah is home to the Great Salt Lake, one of the natural wonders of the world.

Utah achieved statehood on January 4, 1895, becoming the 45th state. Early Mormon settlers named the region “Deseret”, which means “honeybee”. This word stood for hard work and industry, and led eventually to the state motto of “Industry”. The United States Congress named the region Utah in 1950 after the Ute Indian tribe that resided there.

The first explorers to the Utah area were Silvestre Velez de Escalante and Francisco Atanasio Dominguez. They traveled through the region to evangelize the local Indian tribes. In 1947, the Mormon Brigham Young and his followers ventured to the region in search of a place where they could practice their religion without interference. Even today, Utah remains the central headquarters of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, of which Mormonism is the principal branch.

The state capital is Salt Lake City, located in the north central portion of the state. Utah ranks 34th in the nation with a population of approximately 2,233,169. Most Utah residents live in cities, with just 12 percent living in the rural areas.

Utah’s economy is driven by agriculture, manufacturing, and mining. Chief agricultural products include beef cattle, eggs, hogs, milk, wheat, greenhouse and nursery products, and hay. The manufacturing sector produces computer and electronic products, processed foods and beverages, and transportation equipment. The state’s mining operations provide coal, copper, natural gas, molybdenum, and petroleum.

Leave a Reply